The Roads Authority (RA) is one of the two organizations (the other one is the Road Fund Administration (RFA)) which was born out of the separation of functions of the then National Roads Authority (NRA). RA was established by an Act of Parliament No. 3 of 2006. Under this setup, the Minister of Transport and Public Works represents Government as the ultimate owner of the national road network. The RA falls under the Minister, and comprises a Board with a Secretariat.

The main objectives of the RA are to:

  1. a) Ensure that public roads are constructed, maintained or rehabilitated at all times; and
  2. b) Advise the Minister and, where appropriate, the Minister responsible for Local Government on the preparation and the efficient and effective implementation of annual national roads programmes referred to in Section 22 of the Roads Authority Act.

To be the best Agency and Authority in the management of public road network.

To develop and maintain the public road network infrastructure in a cost effective manner with a view to providing an accessible, reliable, efficient, safe, sustainable, economic and environmentally friendly transport system in Malawi through a highly motivated and professional team.

In conducting its business the RA shall:

  • Be driven by the need to perform effectively, efficiently and economically in the construction and maintenance of roads in Malawi;
  • Ensure that all work is carried out according to acceptable design standards and specifications;
  • Conduct its business in an open, transparent, accountable and competitive manner;
  • Ensure optimum utilization of local resources;
  • Ensure compliance with environmental and road safety regulations; and
  • Assure its managers are given mandate to manage as partners to achieve its goals and hold them totally accountable for their actions.

Membership of the Board of Directors comprises ten members representing the private and public sectors who govern the Roads Authority. The Board defines the overall policy of the Authority and sets the general conditions for its operations. The members are from the Road Transport Operators Association, the Bus and Taxi Operators Association, the National Road Safety Council, a representative of the Local Government Association, two representatives from the National Construction Industry Council and two members of the public, representing the general interests of the public.

The Secretary for Transport and Public Works and the Secretary for Local Government and Rural Development are ex-officio members. Each board member, other than the ex-officio members, has a three-year term. The Board of Directors elect a Chairman and Vice Chairman from amongst their number.